Punkin Muffin!

The perfect scoop!

It took three weeks of failed attempts.

That’s right; three painful weeks of gnawing on semi-edible muffin shaped mishaps (and then throwing most of them away by the end of the week).

Each Sunday I would muster up the courage to try a new pumpkin muffin recipe that was the perfect balance of guilt-free and divine.

I googled, I searched, I even tried Pioneer Woman’s fool proof pumpkin muffin-all disasters.  I did strudel toppings and had specialty pumpkin spice, but it never failed to produce either dense bricks or muffins that tasted like foil.  Week three was the best-I didn’t realize I had run out of pumpkin-like that was important.

They were all floppity flops.

I thought my journey had ended and I would just be reduced to looking at pumpkins and being mocked by perseverative pumped pumpkiny things at chain food stores.

Until I saw it. . .in the most inconspicuous place. . .inside of the Land o Lakes butter box.  It was for a banana nut streusel muffin- far from what I wanted-but I thought I’d modify and pray for victory.

Victory was especially important as I was going to bring these bad boys up to a mountain weekend with some friends.  Talk about risky.  I live on the edge.

I loved the minimal butter and sugar ratios and maximized the pumpkin, and when they came out?

Perfect.  Halle-pumpkin-lujah.

Here it is:

Lauren’s [I did it] Pumpkin Muffins

Prep Time:  Four Weeks

Bake Time: 18-20 minutes

Makes about 9-10 regular muffins

  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter (unsalted, softened)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (try Savory’s!)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chip morsels
  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare the muffin tin how you like.
  2. Combine sugar and butter and beat in bowl till creamy
  3. Add pumpkin, egg, and vanilla and beat till mixed and smooth
  4. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, pumpkin spice, and salt in separate bowl and mix well
  5. Stir flour mixture into pumpkin mixture until moist
  6. Stir in as much choc chips as you’d like.  Nuts too.  But I stick with the chocolate.
  7. Spoon batter into cups
  8. Bake!
The perfect pumpkin muffin!

Tis the Season!

Pumpkin Muffin showing off it's stuff

Now he’s just showing off.

2 thoughts on “Punkin Muffin!

  1. Pingback: RECIPES | A Ruffled Heart

Leave a Reply

