Quiche for the Kitchen Faint of Heart

Chicken

Whatcha gonna do with all those eggs?

It never fails, you either open that egg carton and there’s just one lonely little guy, when you desperately need two or you have three full cartons of pre-birds in your fridge.

We are suffering from the latter right now.  So what does one do with a carton of eggs that expired December 30th?

Make a Quiche of course!

Quiche is way yummier than a frittata and definitely tastier than hard boiled eggs (bleh).

I’ve always made my Quiche crustless.  Why you ask?  Can’t you tell I’m a lean mean protein machine that curls up at the thought of a blanket of butter under my eggs?!

That’s actually not the case.

I just don’t know how to make crust and I freak out when I google “easy crust” because it either has crisco in it or you need a pastry cutter.  Two things I have never owned.

Until my friend Suz’s garage sale.  I put down a quarter for a shiney pastery cutter and thought to myself “I bet I’ll never use this.”

Well take that Lauren!  I have now found and conquered a quiche crust that is easy, delicious, and I get to use a kitchen tool for something legit rather than a mini counter dust pan.

I wanted to share with you this delightful crust recipe and give you my vote of confidence.  This really is so simple.  Stop making crustless quiches.  Yes, I’m sure our friends Jillian Michaels and Bob Harper would be cussing at me right now, but they are not really our friends. . .people who say no to butter are not your friends.

This recipe is for the faint of heart when it comes to baking (ie people like me, when everything in the kitchen is one big experiment).

Faint of Heart Quiche Crust

(lovingly borrowed and slightly adapted from Food o’del Mundo)

  • 1 cup + 2 Tbsp flour, sifted (umm, sometimes I forget to sift)

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1/3 cup butter

  • 4-5 tablespoons milk

  1. Combine flour and salt
  2. Using your new favorite tool (pastry cutter), cut butter into flour mixture until there are pea-sized pieces of butter. (Basically slice up some refriged butter, throw it in the bowl with flour and salt, and start making cutting motions into the mix. . .butter will start to get tiny!)
  3. Gradually pour in milk a tablespoon at a time and mix. (will be crumbly)
  4. Grab “dough” with hands and begin to mix until dough ball is formed.
  5. On a well floured surface, roll that sucker out (measure with 9” pie pan by laying on top)
  6. Lay dough in pan, fold over excess dough (or cut off, but why?) and pinch sides
  7. Perforate (or poke holes) in bottom of crust to prevent craziness.
Pie Dough.  Now for the Faint of Heart

Pie Dough. Now for the Faint of Heart. If yours doesn’t look like this, I’m sorry, but you should probably start over.

Measure that Crust

Measure that Crust

Quiche me! (the filling)

  • 9 eggs (told you I was trying to get rid of a dozen!)

  • 1/2 cup milk

  • 1/2 tsp salt

  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese (or your cheesy preference) Plus some for sprinkling on top.

  • Veggies!  (I like baby portabellas, broccoli, and sometimes spinach)

  1. Crack eggs.  No shells allowed.  Wisk till mixed.
  2. Add milk and salt.  Wisk some more.
  3. Add 1/2 cup cheese and stir.
  4. Add veggies (I do not precook); stir
  5. Pour into quiche crust!
  6. Sprinkle some cheese on top

Bake 375 for 30-45 minutes.

Tip!  Place quiche on cookie sheet to catch any potential spillage.

*Side note.  As far as the quiche filling goes-it’s not science.  Measurements may not be exact-get creative ;)

Quiche

Filler Up.

I made a quiche!
Quiche Time!
Quiche

Why would you go crustless?!

Eggs

Seeya Suckas!

If I can make it. . . anyone can make it.  Quiche for the Kitchen Faint of Heart.

 

2 thoughts on “Quiche for the Kitchen Faint of Heart

  1. Pingback: RECIPES | A Ruffled Heart

  2. Pingback: Page not found | A Ruffled Heart

Leave a Reply

