Patty Cake Quinoa Pancakes

Quinoa Pancakes

Patty cake patty cake, Baker’s man, bake me a cake as fast as you can?  Pa-lease.  Have you ever tried to bake a cake fast?  I can’t even bake one slow and it’ll take at least a week for my kitchen to recover any sort of confectionery attempt.  That’s why I’m about to put this Baker’s man out of business.

Not only am I not the best at baking, it’s also really difficult for me to do anything in the kitchen with a little one that loves attention so I often don’t eat very well (I mean, who really reaches for broccoli when they need a snack-if you do, are we really friends?).  My sister-in-law emailed me this simple Martha Stewart Quinoa Pancake recipe.  It was quick and delicious and I have adapted it into an easily repeatable recipe that I will be making until my babies are having babies.  Then I’ll probably stop and reach for that broccoli.  Yeah right.

An equally nice part about this recipe?  You can make these cakes with one hand (albeit much slower) or it’s so fast that you can put the wee babe down and before they know you’re not holding them you’ll be downing your first bite.  Take that needy (but really adorable) child!

Patty Cake Quinoa Pancakes 

(adapted from Martha Stewart)

Makes about 4 medium pancakes.

1 cup cooked quinoa

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 large egg and 1 egg white

1 tbsp melted unsalted butter

1/4 cup skim milk

2 tbsp agave nectar

  1. In bowl mix quinoa, flour, powder, soda, and salt
  2. In separate bowl whisk egg, egg white, butter, milk, and agave nectar
  3. Combine ingredients and stir
  4. Heat up griddle or frying pan on medium heat.  Coat with butter or cooking spray to prevent sticking.
  5. Cook like a pancake!  Yum!
quinoa pancakes

One handed flip.

photo (5)

Make it for baby and me.

3 thoughts on “Patty Cake Quinoa Pancakes

  1. Pingback: RECIPES | A Ruffled Heart

  2. Pingback: Page not found | A Ruffled Heart

Leave a Reply

