Sunday’s Easy Drop Biscuits

quick and easy drop biscuits

Sundays are always busy for this family.  Andy is out the door early to get things ready at New City Church, and me?  Well, to get anywhere on time (with just one child, mind you), I have to plan at least three hours ahead of time.  That doesn’t always work out when your human baby alarm clock seems to hit her own snooze button every Sunday.  So we trail behind hours later, but we do eventually make it to church.

By the time the family is home. . .around 2:00. . .we are all hungry.  Except for River.  She is just grumpy.

At 2pm I am not really up for making anything, so I try to have something either already made, or I just plan to nuke some leftovers in the microwave.  Otherwise I’m breaking into the sneaky snacks like Oreos and chocolate chips.  Who am I kidding. . .I still eat those even with a pre-planned pre-made meal. . .unless the meal already has Oreos and chocolate chips in it, which, in that case, I would skip eating the Oreos and chocolate chips. . .I’m not a glutton people.

Today, beef stew was on the menu.  I made a huge batch of it to bring to a couple of family’s from our church that just welcomed new bundles into this world.  I made enough for this family too and lunch today marked the third meal in a row of beef stew.  We’ll take that recipe out of rotation for a little bit.

So what makes the third meal of beef stew inviting?  How about a quick and easy, warm and delicious, buttery, melt in your mouth biscuit.

I found a great recipe from Food.com for Easy Biscuits. They really take minutes to make and they are amazing.  Except when you use baking soda instead of baking powder.  Then they don’t taste amazing at all.  They taste more like metallic soap that burns your taste buds right off your tongue.  If you do happen to make this terrible error, do not try to salvage the biscuits.  Throw them out and apologize profusely to your taste buds and promptly give them plenty of chocolate chips and Oreos to make them feel better.

Here is the recipe.  I suggest you make these now.  And for breakfast.  With tea.  And jam and bread.

cutting biscuits out

Quick and Easy Drop Biscuits

From Food.com’s recipe Easy Biscuits 

Makes 12 (I usually half the recipe to prevent me ingesting more than I should)

2 cups flour

3 teaspoons baking powder  (just remember soda=tastebud death in this recipe)

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup oil

2/3 cup milk

Preheat oven to 475 (yeah, I didn’t even know oven temps went that high)

  1. Mix dry ingredients
  2. In a measuring cup add oil and milk, but do not stir (science is at work)
  3. Add to dry ingredients and mix until dough ball forms
  4. Flatten dough (with rolling-pin for Type A people, and for Type B, put the drink down and focus. . .you can use your hand) to about 2”
  5. Cut biscuits.  I use a heart-shaped cutter.
  6. Put on ungreased baking sheet.
  7. Watch oven like hawk.  Food.com says bake for 10-12 minutes.  8 minutes worked for me.
  8. Spread massive amounts of butter all over.

quick and easy drop biscuits

Drooling now.

Enjoy this easy treat.  Take these with meals you make for folks, or for a quick dinner taste bud booster.

Here’s to Sundays, leftovers, and delicious biscuits.

Leave a Reply

